Nederlands Dans Theater

Netherlands The

Photo of Netherlands Dans Theater dancers

Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT) is one of the world's leading contemporary dance companies. Led by Artistic Director Emily Molnar since the 2020 – 2021 season, NDT is based in The Hague but performs for an international audience across Europe, America, Asia, and Australia. The Company was founded in 1959 by Benjamin Harkarvy, Aart Verstegen, and Carel Birnie, in collaboration with eighteen dancers from the Dutch National Ballet (then known as Nederlands Ballet). Choreographers Glen Tetley and Hans van Manen left their indelible mark on the Company, securing its international reputation for progressive, avant-garde works. Since then, the company has built a rich repertoire consisting of more than 620 ballets by master choreographers Jiří Kylián, Sol León & Paul Lightfoot, Crystal Pite, Marco Goecke, Johan Inger, Medhi Walerski, Ohad Naharin, Alexander Ekman, Gabriela Carrizo, Franck Chartier, Hofesh Shechter, Edward Clug, Sharon Eyal & Gai Behar, and many others.

Photo : The Point Being © Rahi Rezvani