Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Danseuses et ombres
Mar 16th - 17th, 2022 London
Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker
70 min

In 2022, Dance Reflections by Van Cleef & Arpels is presenting De Keersmaeker's Fase, in collaboration with the Royal Opera House as part of the first Dance Reflections by Van Cleef & Arpels Festival in London.

Fase, Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich, the very first work by choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, premiered in 1982. Fase comprises three duets and one solo, choreographed to four repetitive compositions by the American minimalist Steve Reich. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker uses the structure of Reich’s music to develop an independent movement idiom that does not merely illustrate the music, but enriches it with a new dimension. Both the music and the dance explore the same founding principle of “phase shifting” through tiny variations: movements begin in perfect synchrony, and then gradually start slipping and sliding, resulting in an ingenious play of continuously changing forms and patterns. 

Having always danced Fase herself, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker now passes it on to two new dancers. 

Photo : © Anne Van Aerschot

About the artist

Portrait of Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

In 2024, Dance Reflections by Van Cleef & Arpels is supporting the choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker for her latest creation Il Cimento dell’Armonia e dell’Inventione as well as several institutions for the presentation of the piece.

View profile